• The Evangelists

    In Christian tradition the Four Evangelists are Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John, the authors attributed with the creation of the four Gospel accounts in the New Testament. Convention has traditionally held the authors to be two of the Twelve Apostles of Jesus, John and Matthew, and two ‘apostolic men,’ Mark and Luke. Traditionally, each Evangelist is also associated with a particular iconography that over the centuries has inspired extraordinary works of art. The Evangelists Collection pays tribute to these men as such with four glorious portrait-designs, exquisitely rendered in stunning color upon fine silver coins.

  • St. Matthew

    Matthew the Evangelist is symbolized by a winged man, or angel. Matthew's gospel starts with Jesus' genealogy from Abraham; it represents Jesus' Incarnation, and so Christ's human nature.

  • St. Mark

    Mark the Evangelist is symbolized by a winged lion - a figure of courage and monarchy. Mark has John the Baptist preaching "like a lion roaring" at the beginning of his Gospel. It also represents Jesus' Resurrection (because lions were believed to sleep with open eyes, a comparison with Christ in the tomb), and Christ as king.

  • St. Luke

    Luke the Evangelist is symbolized by a winged ox or bull - a figure of sacrifice, service and strength. Luke's account begins with the duties of Zacharias in the temple; it represents Jesus' sacrifice in His Passion and Crucifixion, as well as Christ being High priest (this also represents Mary's obedience).

  • St. John

    John the Evangelist is symbolized by an eagle - a figure of the sky, and believed to be able to look straight into the sun. John starts with an eternal overview of Jesus the Logos and goes on to describe many things with a "higher" level than the other three gospels; it represents Jesus' Ascension, and Christ's divine nature.

1 of 5